My Latest Project

Hello

In April 2013, I had the opportunity to go on a tour of some of the programs provided by Sacred Heart Mission (http://www.sacredheartmission.org/) to the people of their community. This amazing organisation provides basic necessities of life to those who need it most – food, clothing, emergency relief, accommodation and companionship. They work in the community for the community, and without them many homeless and disadvantaged people would not be able to connect with services or build support networks.

I am lucky enough to work for a company who will allow me at least two full days to volunteer with my team here at work to provide some of our skills to Sacred Heart Mission to help them with their Business Continuity Planning. But personally, after visiting them and seeing how much amazing work they do, I wanted to do a little bit of fundraising too.

Here is where my idea was born. I found this wonderful pattern online for a crazy, beautiful blanket knitted in many colours and stitches. This project feels like a great representation of Sacred Heart Mission, and it will be a fun one for me to create.

So where do you come in? I am encouraging small donations, I know that there are lots of people out there doing great things in the not-for-profit world and it is hard when everyone is asking you to donate to them. But for each $5.00 you donate to Sacred Heart Mission, I will put a ticket in a hat with your name on it. When I finish this blanket (it is going to be a project completed over many months) I will draw one name, and that person will be the lucky winner.

The finished blanket will be approximately 5’6″ by 6’3″ so would be a pretty big baby blanket. But you could snuggle under this to watch movies in winter on your couch, or put it on your spare bed. You could even use it one day to wrap around someone who needs comfort and warmth – just as Sacred Heart Mission provide to the people in their community.

Link:
http://www.knitting-and.com/knitting/patterns/afghans/sampler.htm

I will be creating this blanket in bright colours, but not so many pinks as shown in the example.  I have finished my first three squares, pictured below.  I’m not linking my fundraiser page in my blog because I know I have all different readers and I am unsure what postage would be to overseas on this project.  But if any local friends haven’t seen this on Facebook or anywhere and want to get involved, let me know and I’ll send you the link!

square3 square2 square1

Sandi

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

