I am determined not to become a t-shirt slogan

Hello

im-a-quitter

This is a t-shirt I’ve had for a long time, and it does make me giggle.  It’s a Natalie Dee design, and when I got home from work tonight I put it on because it was on the top of the pile.  Yes, I giggled, but I also thought about the fact that I haven’t started my “NaNoWriMo” writing this month, and we’re 10 days into November.

I have a story bubbling in my head and I think it could be a good one.  I have plotted a few bits and pieces inside my brain but not committed any of it to paper or screen, and I thought sitting down and forcing lots of words out of myself might help.  So far, no good – part of my excuse is that it has been a busy week and a half, and another part of my excuse is that I feel like I need to shape it a little more.  I have a main character kind of here, and I have a blurry world, and I have a bit of a plot.  But nothing that feels meaty enough to actually start.

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is a way to push through concerns and anxiety and just get a first draft.  I tried it a couple of years ago and didn’t have enough of a plot in mind, so I started strong and after less than 10,000 words just sort of fizzled out.  I lost interest, because I didn’t really know where things were going or have enough good tension, action, escalation.  This time I think I might have those things but I need to shape out my character and world a little more before I feel that it is ready.

So tonight I’m going to sit down and not start my draft as such, but start shaping.  I am going to describe my main characters – in writing – instead of just trying to picture them in my head.  There’s a villain, and he’s pretty awful, and I already hate him.  There’s a hero, but he’s sweet and small and doesn’t feel very heroic, and there is his very best friend.  There is a mysterious old lady, and a loving, frightened mother.  These are people I want to be three dimensional, not caricatures, so I’m going to start here.

quitter

Wish me luck!

Sandi

 

3 Comments

  1. Hi Sandi,

    Have just found you on NaNo site. I live in Laverton and would like to hook up with another kindred soul in this area. When are you at the Hub? (I will be going to NaNo ‘Madly’ event this weekend also)

Leave a Reply

