So now a confession

Hello

I first started this blog in August 2011 and one of the things I thought I was going to write was a “weight loss” blog.  I was going to document all the brave steps I took into exercise and eating the right food.  I was going to be a show off each time I reached a milestone and be one of those people with ‘before’ and ‘after’ pictures that might inspire others to try too.

The confession I have for you is that right now I weigh SO MUCH more than I did in August 2011.  Close to 40 kg more, in fact.  (40 kg = 88 pounds for those of you following along in other places).  I am the heaviest I have ever been, and I am embarrassed.  It’s not the kind of deep shame that will send me into some kind of spiral I don’t think – let’s be honest, I don’t have that kind of shame or I would perhaps have not reached this weight!

Dave and I both would like to put some more effort into good health, and so now that I have confessed I guess it’s time to decide what happens next.  There are still some chocolate eggs in the house, but happily not too many.  We have just had our long weekend and it’s back to work tomorrow, and hopefully I can grab some items off my “101 goals” list and start ticking them off.

What I know:

  • Keeping a food diary helps me cut back the binge eating
  • I have recharged my FitBit and when I wear it each day it reminds me to keep moving
  • Planning grocery shopping properly will stop us eating take away

So these are the three things I will start with, and keep it simple.  Here is a self portrait I took this evening, to capture the shape of my face – hopefully if I take some “selfies” regularly over the coming weeks and months, they can be the start of my ‘before’ and ‘after’.  I’m not quite confident enough to be sharing a full body portrait right now!

(PS, I really need to trim my hair out of my eyes)

IMG_6052

Sandi

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

