Everybody needs a bosom for a pillow

Hello

Yesterday we were on canteen duty at our gaming club which meant hot dogs and chocolates and the like.  We also went out for drinks for my dearest friend’s birthday and I had a couple of pints of cider plus a burger and onion rings.  Was this a “slip” in my determination to get healthy?  No, I am calling it a free day and refusing to let it worry me.

During the week, I kept my food diary and also made sure to get plenty of steps.  This included going into a GYM.  That’s right!  The gym next door to one of the offices I work in gave me a “free 7-day trial” pass and I went in and used the treadmill after work on Tuesday and Friday.  It has been a long time since I walked on a treadmill, and the first time I got that weird sea legs feeling afterwards.  Not exactly sea legs, but … when you walk, the world is going at the wrong pace.  I think that will make sense to anyone who remembers getting off a treadmill for the first time (or the first time in ages).

The result of this is that I’ve realised that on two cold, miserable, wet days when I normally wouldn’t have gone for a walk at all, I have managed to get in some exercise.  I’m going to ‘bite the bullet’ and sign up for a gym membership this Tuesday.  The same chain of gyms are in enough places nearby to where I work and live that I think I will be going two to three times a week without having any excuses of “oh but it is far away”.  It is not!

Tomorrow I will weigh myself and see how things have been going, even with that delicious burger in my tummy!

Here is a funny update for you in the way my brain works, even after just two weeks of thinking about weight loss.  I am sitting here on the couch with my laptop typing this blog post, and one of our cats comes along.  He cries for cuddles and then when I don’t respond straight away and he sees my lap is occupied, he crawls straight up onto my ample chest and curls up with his head on my shoulder for a snooze.  My first thought?

“Enjoy it while it lasts, Pudding, because after I lose all this weight, you won’t have such a big cushion to sleep on!”

IMG_9392

Sandi

Leave a Reply

