When crochet flies off the hook

Hello

Sometimes I find myself working on something and it seems to take forever.  Other times I pick my hook and yarn up and suddenly I have almost an entire completed object in my hands!  That is what has happened with this granny square blanket.  It won’t be a very big blanket, lap rug size or something a toddler can drag around.  But I’m happy with how it is coming together, and it is already coming together – half the squares are joined and I will be able to join the rest very quickly and then think about a border.

The yarn is a very soft acrylic, it’s been such a pleasure to make …  I started this only two weeks ago.

This is the first time I have ever joined crochet squares in this way.  It is a “Simulated Braid Join” from Gourmet Crochet, here is a link if you would like to try.  I really like the way it looks, and is a big change from my usual whip stitch!

Tomorrow night is craft night with the girls at the local community centre.  Last week I was only part way through making squares, I’m looking forward to showing them how much more I have done now.  Yes, I am a show off, are you surprised to learn this now?

Sandi

Leave a Reply

